Crock Pot Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Last night I found myself curious about steel cut oats. I keep reading about how these are so much better for you then normal rolled oats. So I went to Pinterest and found multiple recipes and I decided to make Crock Pot Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats.
The recipe:

1 C steel cut oats
1 1/2 C milk
1 1/2 C water
2 TBSP brown sugar
2 peeled and diced apples (I left the skins on for more nutrition)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 TBSP butter cut into pieces

Combine ingredients in a well greased Crock Pot and cook on low 8 hours.

 

Apple Cinnamon Oats

Ready to cook!

Looks good doesn’t it??

When I got up this morning my house smelled just fabulous….like homemade apple pie….I could almost taste the air!! When I stirred it the oats stuck to the bottom and scorched a bit but other then that it worked out just fine! I scooped up a bowl and added some milk and it was just so yummy! It wasn’t as sweet as I like so I added some Splenda to the bowl but other then that it was perfect.

Changes I would make:

1. Add another tablespoon brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit more.

2. My crock pot’s lowest setting is 10 hours so to keep it from scorching I will start the cooking process earlier in the evening. I read you can put it on warm to cook to keep it from burning.

 

One comment on “Crock Pot Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Steel Cut Oats | The Pinterest Project

Leave a Reply

