Skip Grocery Shopping This Week!

I already had dinner planned for tonight and it wasn’t anything I had pinned so I picked another one out that I had been meaning to do. Lets say I have been meaning to do this for a long, long time but always put it off. Well tonight I completed it as my Project Pinterest of the night!

The pin: http://www.thebudgetdiet.com/skip-grocery-shopping-this-week

It states: 

“Good news…here’s a way you can save money at the grocery store – skip grocery shopping this week! Bad news…you’re going to clean out and organize your pantry, refrigerator and freezer! Consider this your challenge for the week!”

I started with my cupboards and oh boy did it take some work! I found a lot of multiples of things all spread out…I had so many because I didn’t see the ones I had so I went and bought more! I had about 10 cans of green beans alone! I only found one expired item so it got tossed and the rest I grouped up into like items and got them cupboards looking mighty spiffy!

 

My drink, oatmeal, and snack shelf.

My drink, oatmeal, and snack shelf.

My veggie shelf. See all the jarred tomatoes and canned green beans I had?

My veggie shelf. See all the jarred tomatoes and canned green beans I had?

Top part is baking mixes, middle is condiments, and bottom is pasta.

Top part is baking mixes, middle is condiments, and bottom is pasta.

Raw baking ingredients.

Raw baking ingredients.

 

In the last photo you can see a pink plastic basket. I decided to use this to hold my loose envelope spices (i.e taco seasoning, gravy mixes, marinades etc) since I never knew what to do with them. Now they are all in one tidy spot ready to use! Tomorrow I will tackle the deep freezer….which I am not looking forward to lol! I will add at this point the reason I have some multiples (like the frosting and boxed pasta) is because I use coupons. No…no…I am not an “extreme couponer” that is actually an insult to good, smart shoppers since that show portrays people using coupons in ways they weren’t meant to be used.  I can get loads of items for cheap but draw the line at like a bazillion mustards! So now you know one of my secrets so please don’t judge me for my 8 boxes of macaroni noodles!!

Changes I would make:

#1 None at all these instructions were very straightforward and easy to follow! 

#2 The writer has some great tips like making a snack bowl and cleaning as you organize to make things easier…love it!

#3 I really liked the tip about searching the internet for cooking ideas if you find items you don’t know what to do with. I found 3 cans of Libby’s canned pumpkin I got for super cheap after the last holiday season. A quick search of Pinterest and I found Pumpkin Spice Steel Cut Oats…crock pot style. Can’t wait to try this!

Happy Pinning!

7 comments on “Skip Grocery Shopping This Week!

  1. Doing this this week but not by choice, back to school and cut work hours made our budget really tight. So we are making do with what we have avaible until next paycheck. But the upside is the things we hardly ever eat will be actually eaten and nkt wasted.

    • That is reason #2 I did this! I have enough cash for gas in the car until I get paid so by organizing everything I can see what I have and I already have all the week’s meals planned! It’s amazing how much you have on hand but that you don’t realize!

  2. So often we go for what is readily available. I know is I cut up the watermelon- it disappears in less than five hours. If I do not cut it up – it will rot.

    • Believe it or not I just figured this out lol! I used to get so mad about everything going bad and my daughter saying “There is nothing to eat!” so now I wash everything and cut it up before putting it away. Now I can’t keep stuff in the house!!

  3. Pingback: Skip Grocery Shopping This Week part 2 | The Pinterest Project

Leave a Reply

