Easy Sugared Doughnuts

Today’s project was a breakfast one and my, oh my was it delicious and so easy to make!

The Pin: http://kirbiecravings.com/2010/06/sugared-doughnuts-using-pillsbury-biscuit-dough.html

You just take a can of pre-refrigerated biscuit dough, like Pillsbury Grands, cut holes in them and fry until golden brown!  Super easy! Since this week is about using what you have on hand I used Pillsbury refrigerated cinnamon roll dough. A plus to this is that they come with icing that you can top your doughnuts with! Bonus!

Cut and ready to fry!

Cut and ready to fry!

While I prepped my doughnuts I let the oil heat up in a pan on the stove. Then I dropped them in one at a time and wow did they sizzle and brown up really quickly! So quickly in fact the first two burned…so I turned the heat down and fried the rest. Even after adjusting the temperature they still cooked up quickly so you have to keep your eye on them at all times!

Fried and topped!

Fried and topped!

See how the ones at the top are darker then the rest? It was an easy fix and they still taste good jut a bit cruchier! I rolled several of them in sugar and then topped the rest with the glaze that came in the package. As you can see by the missing one it is very hard to resist fresh, hot, gooey doughnuts 😉

Changes I would make:

#1 Next time I will use plain biscuit dough to see how they differ from using cinnamon roll dough.

#2 I will roll them in a cinnamon sugar bath to get that sweetness in there instead of using glaze. Just to see of they differ in any way!

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

