Sizzling Fajitas and Homemade Guacamole

Looks like the post on homemade pop tarts will have to wait a bit longer…dang it! I discovered I don’t own a rolling pin so I froze the dough until I can buy one, payday is Monday, and finish them off! So tonight I found myself home alone, the kid is at a game and my boyfriend is fixing his daughter’s car, and I decided to make one of my favorite dishes…chicken fajitas!

The pin: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/gold-medal-sizzling-fajitas-recipe/index.html

Ingredients ready to cook!

Ingredients ready to cook!

Marinade:

1/4 cup vegetable oil, divided
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
Dash hot sauce
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper

mix in plastic bag then add your meat and chill (15 minutes for shrimp, 20 minutes for chicken and 1 hour for skirt steak.)

Marinating chicken

Marinating chicken

While the chicken chilled for 20 minutes I decided to make some homemade guacamole. Now I don’t have a pin for the guacamole because I already know how to make it…thanks to my sister Jessica! It is so delicious!

 

Guacamole

1-5 Avocados (depending on how much guacamole you want)

diced tomatoes or onions (depending on how chunky you want your guacamole)

lime juice, salt, and chopped cilantro

Mash the Avocados in a bowl and add the tomatoes and onions, mixing well. Add cilantro, lime juice, and salt making sure to taste as you go until you get the desired taste.

Guacamole ready to eat!

Guacamole ready to eat!

Chill the guacamole while you cook the chicken, peppers, and onions in a hot frying pan. Serve with warm tortillas, guacamole, sour cream or any other sides you desire!

 

Plated and ready to eat!

Plated and ready to eat!

I discovered I didn’t have tortillas so I had some chips on the side for the guacamole and I ate the filling alone. It was so delicious!

Tips from me:

#1 I was unable to get the meat to brown much because the recipe has you put it on heated chargers, like at a restaurant. So I would increase the temperature next time to get it to brown better.

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

