Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Yup this anohter pumpkin themed recipe! I love this time of the year because of all the yummy pumpkin themed food and drinks! While making the pumpkin puree (https://aradiasilvermoon.wordpress.com/2013/09/29/pumpkin-puree/) I put the seeds and strings in a bowl of water so I could roast them later. I didn’t even know you could do this until my boyfriend asked about it, apparently he love them! The same pin which inspired me to make my own pumpkin puree had instructions to roast the seeds.

The pin: 

http://dailysavings.allyou.com/2012/09/24/pumpkin-cooking/

It says to place the pumpkin innards in a bowl of water and then mush them until the seeds separate and float to the top.

Soaking

Soaking

Once you have the seeds floating on top of the water scoop them out and lay them out flat to dry them out.

 

Ready to dry!

Ready to dry!

I laid mine on a clean dish towel and let them sit out for a few hours to dry. Then you lay them in a single layer on a lightly oiled pan and season, I used sea salt, and toast at 325 for 10 to 15 minutes. Check them after 10 minutes and gently shake the pan once or twice and if needed toast them longer until lightly browned. After roasted transfer into a bowl to cool down then enjoy!

Roasted and ready to eat!

Roasted and ready to eat!

Tips from me: 

#1 Let them dry completely! When I roasted mine they were still “tacky” feeling and because of this they took extra long to roast.

#2 You can season them anyway you like! My boyfriend told me he likes them sweet so next time I will sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar. Also the pin states you can use cumin and chili powder or salt and pepper….whatever you want!

#3 Separating the seeds from the  strings can be challenging and you won’t get them all but your patience will be rewarded with yummy crunchy goodness!

I found these to be so yummy and even my uber-picky daughter loved them and stated they tasted like sunflower seeds! I am going back to get more pie pumpkin from the Amish market and will definitely make this again!

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

