Breakfast Casserole

During a church dinner I tried this amazing, yummy casserole made of sausage, cheese, eggs, and hashbrowns. I always wanted to make it but never could find a recipe until I joined Pinterest. But it makes a HUGE pan full so I never made it until last weekend when my parents and 18 year old nephew came down. I figured it would be the perfect meal since my dad and nephew can put away some food, mainly my nephew lol. It made a nice 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in pan full!

The pin: 

http://peppertree.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/morning-after-breakfast-casserole/

Ingredients

8 frozen hash brown patties. Or you can use a 12 oz bag of shredded hash browns
4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
1 pound cubed fully cooked ham (or cooked sausage and bacon!)
7 eggs
1 cup milk (I used skim milk and the author of the blog used Silk soymilk)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground mustard (I didn’t have so I omitted)
A few drops of Hot Sauce (Franks or Tabisco)- I omitted

Ingredients

Ingredients

Brown your sausage or cook your meat and while it’s cooking place hashbrowns in a greased 13×9 in pan.

Hashbrown layer

Hashbrown layer

Mix the eggs and milk in a bowl with the seasonings and hot sauce. Sprinkle your meat and cheese on top of the hashbrowns and then pour the egg mixture on top. Cover with tin foil and bake for an hour at 350 degrees then uncover and cook an additional 15 minutes to brown the top.

Out of the oven.

Out of the oven.

Then enjoy!

Served and ready to eat.

Served and ready to eat.

Tips from me: 

#1 Instead of ground mustard I seasoned the egg mixture with salt and pepper just like I do when I make scrambled eggs.

#2 Four cups of cheese seemed like a lot to me because when I layered two cups it covered the meat and hashbrowns perfectly. So depending on how much cheese you like you can adjust this without any cooking problems.

While eating my mom and I discussed the possibility of baking this, cutting it into squares, place them in freezer bags, and then freezing them. So on a busy day you can take out a bag, heat a square up in the microwave, and eat a nice hot  meal without cooking! I decided to try this idea and it worked out nicely! So now I can make this and not worry about wasting leftovers!

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

