Banana Nut Bread

Last night my boyfriend came home with 4 rotting bananas he had found at his house and he asked me to make him some banana nut bread. Then he told me his roommate wanted me to make him some of my homemade beer bread (https://aradiasilvermoon.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/homemade-beer-bread/)  and at first I was flabbergasted thinking “What am I a short order cook?” But then I was flattered because apparently I was getting so good at baking homemade breads that everybody wants some! So off I went to my Pinterest page and I brought up the cooking board where, sure enough, I had a recipe pinned for banana but bread! Now the recipe I found was for a double, 2 loaf, batch so I cut the ingredients in half to make just one loaf. I put the half ingredients on this post but if you want the double batch ingredients go to the pin below.

The pin:

http://southernfood.about.com/od/bananabread/r/bl30426m.htm

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter or margarine

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups flour

3 very ripe bananas mashed

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup chopped nuts

Ingredients

Ingredients

Melt the butter then cream with the sugar in a large bowl then add the eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly before adding another. Mix the flour, salt, and baking soda together in a separate bowl then slowly add the dry mixture to the liquid ingredients. Then you mash the bananas on a plate.

Bananas ready to mix in the dough.

Bananas ready to mix in the dough.

Then fold the bananas into the dough and mix well then add your chopped nuts (I used walnuts). After the dough is ready pour into a greased loaf pan and cook at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Ready to bake!

Ready to bake!

Now I don’t have an after photo since it’s not done cooking yet! I have made banana bread before so I know this will turn out just fine! 🙂 I love any fresh bread straight out of the oven! So warm, fluffy, and at times so gooey….I am getting hungry just thinking about it!!

Tips from me

I don’t have any today! This is a fairly easy, simple, and straight forward bread that anyone can make!

Happy pinning!!!

Leave a Reply

